## Spring Lake District Library Board Minutes January 21, 2022

Present: Gordon Gallagher, Carolyn Boersma, Christine Burns, Mary Eagin, Skylar Garrison, David Takitaki

Also present: Maggie McKeithan, Library Director; Amanda Rantanen, Business Manager

Absent: Bonnie Suchecki

The meeting was held in person at the Spring Lake District Library.

The meeting was called to order at 10:02 p.m. by Board President, Gordon Gallagher

**Motion to approve the agenda,** made by Mary Eagin and supported by Carolyn Boersma. The motion was approved unanimously.

**Motion to approve the minutes of the December 17, 2021 meeting** was made by Chris Burns and supported by Carolyn Boersma. The motion was approved unanimously.

Motion made by made by Carolyn Boersma and supported by Chris Burns, to accept the financial reports from December 2021 and approve the payment of bills. The motion was approved unanimously.

## Director's Report:

Maggie reviewed her written Director's Report noting that additionally:

- SLDL has moved to the newly expanded hours
- Discussion on whether to continue to be closed on Sundays in the summer... it was decided that will continue

## Old Business:

**Roof Solar Panels** – After continued consideration, it was agreed that the Board is not interested in pursuing the installation of Solar Panels at this time.

## New Business:

**Motion** made by made by Mary Eagin and supported by Chris Burns, **to approve the quote from Hurst Mechanical Motion** made by made by Carolyn Boersma and supported by Chris Burns, **to accept the quote from Hurst Mechanical** to replace the ECM Heat Pump. Motion was approved unanimously.

**Motion** made by made by Mary Eagin and supported by David Takitaki , **to approve the RFP for the Building Refresh Project.** Motion was approved unanimously.

Bill Cousins made a presentation about the costs of installing EV Charging Stations in the library parking lot. **Motion** made by made by David Takitaki and supported by Chris Burns, to retain Bill Cousins to assist SLDL in pursuing the installation of EV charging stations. Motion was approved unanimously.

Motion made by made by Chris Burns and supported by David Takitaki, to appoint the following officers for 2022: Gordon Gallagher, Board President; Chris Burns, Board Vice President; Mary Eagin, Board Secretary / Treasurer. Motion was approved unanimously.

**Motion to adjourn at 11:43 a.m.** made by Mary Eagin and supported by David Takitaki. The motion was approved unanimously.

Respectfully submitted,

Mary Eagin, Secretary